Top Reads of 2014

booksAs seems to be customary in the blogosphere here’s my list of the best books I’ve read in the last year (in no particular order):

  • N.T.Wright, Paul and the Faithfulness of God – enormous, controversial, but full of useful stuff.
  • Dan Strange, For Their Rock is Not As Our Rock – the single best book I’ve read this year covering far more than just other religions.
  • Gary MacIntosh, Taking Your Church To The Next Level – practical insights on the challenges of various church sizes
  • Wellum & Gentry, Kingdom Through Covenant – lots of helpful stuff here on how to put the whole Bible together
  • John Walton, Ancient Near Eastern Thought and the Old Testament – An excellent book introducing the relevance of Ancient Near Eastern studies to OT studies
  • Eugene Peterson, The Pastor – The book that did my soul most good this year. I didn’t like everything in it, but the stuff I like was gold – a book I’ll return to often I suspect.

Do comment with your favourites and recommends – I’m always looking for good stuff to read.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

