Replenish

replenishHere’s a book recommended by one of our elders. It’s all about how leaders need to lead from a healthy soul. It contains 41 bite sized chapters (each one only a few pages) covering areas such as approval addiction, pit stops, the art of doing nothing, humility, and the gift of loitering. If you’ve read Hybels’ Axiom it’s sort of like that but for your soul. As I’ve read it I’ve thought it’s the kind of book I need to revisit once a year just to check my own spiritual balance. Here are just a few of the things I highlighted:

“those of us who serve in ministry leadership aren’t very good at sending up the warning flare and letting somebody know when we’re in over our heads”

 

“My ministry became my identity . . . the unintended byproduct during those seasons was a slow disconnect from Jesus.”

 

“You are walking in a ministry  minefield when your outward success beings to outpace your inward life.”

 

“The older I get the less concern I have with what I have or have not done and the more concern I have for what I have or have not become”

 

“It has been said that for those of us in ministry compliments are written in sand, but criticism is written in wet cement”

 

“Hurry is not about a disordered schedule; it’s about a disordered heart”

 

As I said, this is a book I’ll return to again and again – get yourself a copy – it’ll repay the investment.

One thought on “Replenish

Leave a Reply

