Reflections on a year of blogging

blogIt was this time last year that I decided to start blogging. It came after reading a book which encouraged people like me to think about ways to share information, encourage people, communicate, and store good ideas. So I began not knowing what lay ahead. One hundred and sixteen (this is 117) posts later here are some reflections.

  • It’s a good personal discipline. It forces you to curate and not just consume content.
  • By writing down book summaries, ideas, critiques etc retention of such information is better. The process of writing it down helps me to clarify my thoughts and remember stuff better.
  • As an added bonus I now have a searchable resource of useful anecdotes, quotes, book summaries etc.
  • It’s a tremendous force for sharing good ideas. I’ve tried to not let it be ranty or opinionated. I’ve tried to pass on good material. That will continue to be my aim. My top post was my sharing on Tim Keller’s top 10 evangelism tips which I heard him share in a talk he gave. That post has to date had over 13,000 views. Now in the big bad world of blogging that’s not so many. But just think – that’s 13,000 people who might have tried to put some things into practice, scatter a little seed, and see what happens. It’s difficult to know what the harvest might be from that sort of thing, but it’s pretty exciting to have that sense of being part of God’s wider work throughout the world.
  • It’s a good way to communicate and encourage in bite sized chunks. Without sharing the stats I ‘communicate’ with as many people virtually as physically in a week. I see the virtual as a compliment, not a competitor, to my week by week communication. If I preach to 300 or so on a Sunday, I can then go and share further snippets of encouragement with about the same number throughout the week. It doesn’t replace the visit, letter, call, text but supplements nicely.
  • It keeps me sharp. It enables me to present ideas, have interaction, and sharpen up. Some posts particularly have really helped me to do that thanks to the godly interaction of brothers and sisters.
  • It keeps me outward focused. I’m always reading and thinking with a view to how I can share it with others.
  • It keeps me in touch with people outside of my immediate situation. I’ve had great interaction with friends I trained with, and some I don’t know so well.
  • It gives me a creative outlet, and helps with any other writing or communicating I might be thinking about.

All in all I think I’ve learnt alot, gained alot, and served others a bit in the last year. Will I still be doing this in a year. I don’t know. But I kind of hope so.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on a year of blogging

Leave a Reply

