See Everyone As A “10”

I’m currently working slowly through John Maxwell’s 360 Leader, and am greatly enjoying the practical wisdom contained therein. Today I read his chapter entitledSee Everyone As A “10”. He began by asking the question “Who is your favourite teacher?” He follows that up by asking “What made that teacher different?” He then suggests that the decisive factor was probably that the teacher say you as a 10 – instead of brow-beating you and telling you how stupid or naughty you were, they encouraged you and believed in you.

He applies the lesson to leadership with the following questions:

  • Who gets my best effort? The leader who believes I’m a 10 or the leader who believes I’m a 2?
  • Who do I enjoy working with? The leader who believes I’m a 10 or the leader who believes I’m a 2?
  • Who is the easiest for me to approach? The leader who believes I’m a 10 or the leader who believes I’m a 2?
  • Who wants the best for me? The leader who believes I’m a 10 or the leader who believes I’m a 2?
  • Who will I learn the most from? The leader who believes I’m a 10 or the leader who believes I’m a 2?

Whilst ‘Gordon Ramsay leaders’ or ‘Lord Sugar leaders’ may make good television, they don’t make good leaders – especially when working with volunteers. If you want to get the best out of your staff or volunteers see them as a “10”. Encourage, inspire, equip, praise, develop, and delight in them. We mustn’t be disingenuous, but we ought to be generous.

Leave a Reply

